2002 Pearce Cup 2003 Pearce Cup 2004 Pearce Cup 2005 Pearce Cup 2006 Pearce Cup 2007 Pearce Cup 2008 Pearce Cup 2009 Pearce Cup 2010 Pearce Cup 2011 Pearce Cup 2012 Pearce Cup 2013 Pearce Cup 2014 Pearce Cup 2015 Pearce Cup 2016 Pearce Cup 2017 Pearce Cup 2018 Pearce Cup 2019 Pearce Cup 2020 Pearce Cup


DomPost - "By their own admission Eastern Suburbs were fortunate to qualify top for tomorrow’s Dominion Post premier club cricket final and are hoping that luck will continue in their bid for a seventh straight title."

THE MIGHTY EASTS Win PEARCE CUP for a 7th time!!!

Pearce Cup

Eastern Suburbs continued on their impressive run in the Pearce Cup running out winners in the 2007/08 final against North City. This is the seventh year in succession that East’s have won the Pearce Cup.

The 2007/2008 season saw Easts finish the round robin phase 1.45 points ahead of qualifiers North City. This meant that we had to at least draw the game against North City in the three day final played 21-23 March 2008.

After rolling North City for 181 in their first innings Roger Fouhy 6-52, Easts batted solidly to amass 385 all out John Peters 110, Lance Dry 70*, Robert Sewell 65 and Phil Parker 35 – it should also be noted that Lance Dry and Roger Fouhy had a parthership of 89 for the last wicket.

In their second dig North City ground out 234-9 – Roger Fouhy 5-98 for a match total of 11-150. This left Easts to get 31 runs to secure the victory – which were polished off in 5.4 overs for the loss of 3 wickets.

This is the first time in over one hundred years that a club has won seven consecutive Premier Mens championships in Wellington.

North City  181 & 234-9 ( Roger Fouhy 6-52 & 5-98 )

Easts         385 & 32-3 (Phil Parker 35, John Peters 110, Robert Sewell 65, Lance Dry 70* )

Pearce Cup Winners - Eastern Suburbs 2008

Back (l to r):- Ben Gamble, Ricky Joseph, Josh McLauchlan, Richard Gilhooly, Roger Fouhy,        
      John Peters, Robert Sewell
Front (l to r):- Phil Parker, John Francis, Lance Dry(c), Scott Golder, Jeremy Dean

      Absent :- Josh Brodie, Brad Edwards, Tom Jamieson, Joe Consedine, Matt Harvey, Doug Pollock, Josh Stuart, Tim Boyer,
                      Ants Bull, Jeetan Patel, Steve Pyke

Source :- Dominion Post

Pearce Cup Points

The Pearce Cup Cup was decided by the accummulation of competition points in the 1 and 2 Day games during the season but this year the two top teams would play a 3 day final against each other. The outright winner would win the Pearce Cup but if the game ending up as a draw then the top qualifier would be crowned the winner.

In 2008 The MIGHTY EASTS team won the competition by beating North City by 7 wickets in the final !!!.

Now SEVEN out of SEVEN !!!!

HISTORY OF PEARCE CUP FINALS SINCE 2001/2002 - "EASTS have played in all Finals"

Season Team 1 Team 2 Result
2007/2008 Easts North City Easts won by 7 wickets
2006/2007 Easts Naenae Easts won by 9 wickets
2005/2006 Easts Karori Easts won as top qualifier - Final abandoned (rain)
2004/2005 Easts   Easts won by 20.26 points
2003/2004 Easts   Easts won by 14.92 points
2002/2003 Easts   Easts won by 2.15 points
2001/2002 Easts   Easts won by 6.93 points